Watch Electoral Reform in Canada

Thursday, April 14, 2016

In its first Speech from the Throne, the Liberal Government promised consultations on electoral reform to make the 2015 federal election the last under the first-past-the-post (FPTP) system. 

In an effort to stimulate this dialogue, the Jean-Luc Pepin Research Chair (JLP) at the University of Ottawa is convening a public symposium with academics, researchers, public commentators and politicians on the principles of electoral reform in Canada.

Date: Thursday, April 14, 2016

Time: 5:30pm-8:30pm

Location: 55 Laurier Avenue East, Desmarais Building, Room 12102

What problem are we trying to solve with electoral reform? What outcome are we seeking through electoral reform? What are the commonly held principles that should underlie a new voting system?  


Join us for this discussion on the principles of electoral reform featuring: 

Hon. Maryam Monsef Minister of Democratic Institutions
Nik Nanos Nanos Research
Heather Scoffield Canadian Press
Mike Pal University of Ottawa
Jonathan Rose Queen's University
Henry Milner Université de Montréal
Tom Flanagan University of Calgary
Nathalie Des Rosiers University of Ottawa

Sitting Members of Parliament, including:

Mark Holland Liberal Party of Canada
Scott Reid Conservative Party of Canada
Nathan Cullen New Democratic Party
Elizabeth May Green Party

 Parking details  

Public transportation details and directions

#SamaraChat XI: Electoral Reform

On Wednesday, April 13 at 12pm EST, join iVote-jeVote and Samara Canada on Twitter to tell us your thoughts on electoral reform.

RSVP to #SamaraChat XI: Electoral Reform to receive a reminder and advance access to the questions.